Ohio Department of Education

Academic Content Standards Extended

The Ohio Academic Content Standards – Extended (OACS-E) also are commonly known as "the extended standards." These standards help to ensure that students with significant cognitive disabilities are provided with multiple ways to learn and demonstrate knowledge. At the same time, the extended standards are designed to maintain the rigor and high expectations of Ohio’s Learning Standards.

The Offices for Curriculum, Assessment and Exceptional Children have worked collaboratively since July 2011 in the creation of extensions to Ohio’s Learning Standards for English Language Arts and Math as well as the revised standards for Science and Social Studies. A committee comprised of special educators, regular educators, parents, administrators and other stakeholders in Ohio came together in the writing of these extensions to be used for students participating in the Alternate Assessment.

Each subject area has its own link below. As these are intended to be printed, there are blank pages inserted so as to keep the true design nature of this document intact. The standards are always meant to be displayed on the left page with the extensions on the right page. The extensions are to be implemented for the 2012-2013 school year as students will be assessed on their knowledge of these extensions when the new Alternate Assessment for Students with Significant Cognitive Disabilities is administered in the Spring of 2013.



For the 2012-2013 school year, the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) is offering online instructional modules for Ohio’s Academic Content Standards –Extended (OACS-E). Educators can earn contact hours for completing these modules, which can be accessed atohextendedstandards.org.


For more information on the extended standards, contact:
Andrew.Hinkle@education.ohio.gov, Office for Exceptional Children


Last Modified: 7/21/2015 11:42:23 AM

Special and Gifted Education